FIFA World Cup History Men’s Category 1930 to 2022

FIFA World Cup

List of FIFA World Cup Winners (1930-2022): The Football World Cup is organized every four years by the Federation International de Football Association. It is headquartered in Switzerland. It is an international football competition played by the men’s national teams of 32 countries. The current winner of this tournament is France to win the FIFA World Cup 2018 held in Russia.

The FIFA World Cup is an international association football competition that organizes the football championship every four years since its inception in 1930.

This article will provide the list of FIFA World Cup Winners Men’s Category 1930 to 2022 as it is an important topic for competitive exams.

FIFA World Cup History

OrganizerFederation International Football Association (FIFA)
Total Team32 (Currently)
Previous winnerFrance (2018)
Most successful teamBrazil (5 titles)

This tournament, played every 4 years, was started in 1930. In the first edition of 1930, the host nation Uruguay defeated Argentina 4-2 to win the first FIFA World Cup title.

Due to World War II, this tournament could not be organized in the years 1942 and 1946. From 1934 to 1978, 16 teams took part in this tournament.

But in 1938 and 1950, 15 and 13 teams took part respectively. In 1982 the number of participating teams was increased to 24. Whereas in 1998, 32 teams were allowed to play in the tournament.

The FIFA World Cup tournament has been organizing 21 times since the year 1930 till now (2022). Brazil has won the FIFA World Cup the most times 5 times and is the only team to participate in each tournament.

Italy (4), Germany (4), Argentina (2) and Uruguay (2) have won this title. Argentina, Uruguay, England and Spain have won this title once each.

At the same time, the Netherlands has failed to win the title three times by making it to the final match. The World Cup is one of the most widely watched sporting events in the world.

Information about FIFA World Cup 2022

FIFA World Cup 2022 will be played in the year 2022. It is set by the Fédération International Football Association (FIFA) as the 22nd edition. It is an international men’s association football championship.

The Games will begin in Qatar on 21 November 2022. And it will be played till 18 December 2022. It will be the first World Cup to be held in Arabia and the first in a Muslim-majority country.

It will be the second World Cup held entirely in Asia, after the 2002 tournament in South Korea and Japan. In addition, the tournament will be a sport involving 32 teams.

Due to Qatar’s intense heat, this World Cup will be held from late November to mid-December, this May, Will not be held in June or July. It is to be played in a short time frame of around 28 days. The game will be played at Lusail Iconic Stadium or Lusail National Stadium.

FIFA World Cup 2022 will be played in Qatar in 2022.

The 21st edition of the FIFA World Cup 2018 was held in Russia from 14 June to 15 July. In the year 2018, 32 teams participated in this tournament which lasted for 31 days.

The France team won the FIFA World Cup 2018 title by defeating Croatia 4-2 in the final played at the Luzhinki Stadium in Moscow on 15 July.

France won the World Cup title for the second time in football history. Before this, he became the champion for the first time in the year 1998.

France has now become the third country after Uruguay and Argentina to win two World Cups. Thiabout Courtois of Belgium received the Golden Gloves award in this tournament.

England captain Harry Kane received the Golden Boot Award. Kane scored the most goals in this World Cup with 06 goals.

Croatia captain Luka Modric won the Golden Ball in FIFA World Cup 2018. France’s Kylin Mbappe with FIFA Young Player of the World Cup title

List of FIFA World Cup winners (1930-2021)

Event yearHost countryThe winnerRunner-up
2010South AfricaSpainNetherlands
2002South Korea, JapanBrazilGermany
1990ItalyWest GermanyArgentina
1986MexicoArgentinaWest Germany
1982SpainItalyWest Germany
1974West GermanyWest GermanyNetherlands
1966EnglandEnglandWest Germany
1954SwitzerlandWest GermanyHungary
1946Canceled2nd World War,
1942Canceled2nd World War,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


List of FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifier teams

Belgium national football team

Belgium National Football Team list details